How To Delete Apps on Facebook

How To Delete Apps on Facebook

Connect With Facebook
Connect With Facebook

With the latest privacy scare regarding the “Girls Around Me” iPhone App, doing the rounds on the Internet and news channels over the last week highlighting what happens when you link Foursquare, Google Maps, and Facebook profile information. It might be time to see what apps you actually have linked to Facebook and how they are being used. Deleting linked apps that you really don’t use or need is one way to secure your privacy a bit better.

Over time you may have authorised a ton of apps that now have access to your Facebook profile, but many of them you probably don’t need or use or anymore. It’s always a good idea every now and then to go in and delete the ones you don’t recognise, or don’t need, to help keep your Facebook profile more secure. The more apps you have in your “Apps list” on Facebook, the more access developers also have to your private Facebook details. And if you are worried about the “Girls Around Me” App, (which the developers say they are relaunching…) definitely unlink Foursquare from Facebook, and turn off location services in Facebook and Foursquare, on your smart phone. (go to Location Settings in General Settings and privacy settings within the app on your phone to do so.)

NOTE: Check all your Tabs on your Facebook account and Page before you delete anything to make sure you don’t delete anything that your Facebook account or Page is using, like a YouTube tab on your Facebook Page for instance, or a Static HTML tab which is typically where a welcome page, product or fan page might be.

Here’s how you can go in and check which apps like Foursquare, Twitter, various online news Sites etc, you have given permission to use the information on your Facebook account.

Home drop down
Home drop down

1. Go to “Home”, click the down arrow to bring up the drop down menu. Click on “Account Settings”.

Get 3 Months Free!
Advertisement
App Settings
App Settings

2. Then go to “Apps” and click the cross next to edit on the far right of each App to delete the ones you don’t want.

Remove App

3. A pop-up will come up asking if you want to remove it, click remove to complete.

Move onto next one, until you’ve removed all the apps you don’t want or need.

This will certainly help somewhat with your privacy and security. The less apps you have connected the better.

If you remove an App that you do use by mistake, the next time you are on that App it will simply ask you to approve access to your Facebook account again.

 

Follow Me on Twitter! Click here ? @_LeonieGSmith

 

Share
Click Here To View